Illustration of a wide static drawdown bar with three restart arrows, representing Lark Funding's 1-Step Max evaluation launch.
01 What happened

A looser evaluation, with a wide drawdown.

Lark Funding has launched a new evaluation programme called 1-Step Max. It pairs a 12% static maximum drawdown with a 5% daily loss limit, and the firm says it removes several restrictions common elsewhere in the industry.

Lark already sells 1-Step evaluations, which appear as prizes in its competitions. The announcement does not say how 1-Step Max differs from them beyond the rules listed here.

02 What is confirmed

The rules, and the conditions for a free restart.

TermDetail
Maximum drawdown12%, static
Daily loss limit5%
Consistency ruleNone
News restrictionsNone. Traders may trade during macroeconomic events
Minimum trading daysNone
Free restartsThree

To qualify for a free restart, a trader must meet all three of these conditions:

  • ✓Surrender the account voluntarily, before any rule has been breached.
  • ✓Be within a 5% drawdown at the time of surrender.
  • ✓Not have risked more than 1% per trade at any point during the trading period.
03 What remains uncertain

Key terms that are missing.

The announcement covers the rules but leaves out the commercial terms and several details a buyer would need.

  • ✓Price and sizes. No account sizes or prices are given.
  • ✓Profit target and split. The announcement does not state the profit target, the profit split or the payout terms.
  • ✓The 5% condition. "Within a 5% drawdown" is not defined, so it is unclear whether it means no more than 5% below the starting balance or something else.
  • ✓The 1% condition. It does not say how risk per trade is measured or enforced.
  • ✓Restarts. It is not stated whether unused restarts expire, whether they are per account, or whether they apply after funding.
04 Why this matters

Few restrictions, and a wide static drawdown.

A 12% static drawdown is a lot of room, and the absence of a consistency rule, news restrictions and minimum trading days leaves little to trip over apart from the loss limits. The 5% daily loss limit is the tighter control.

The free restarts come with a catch: to use one, a trader has to give the account up voluntarily before any breach, while within a 5% drawdown, and having kept risk per trade to 1%. Traders who simply fail the evaluation do not appear to qualify. Without a price, profit target and split, the programme cannot yet be compared with others on value.

05 What happens next

What to confirm before buying.

Worth confirming directly with Lark Funding before purchase: the price and profit target for each size, the profit split and payout terms, the exact meaning of the 5% and 1% restart conditions, and whether any news-related limits apply once the account is funded.

06 Comparing your options

If you prefer an evaluation with fully published terms.

Lark's 1-Step Max has no stated price, profit target or split in the announcement. If you want an evaluation with fully published terms, it is worth comparing against an established futures-focused firm.

Our full Apex Trader Funding review covers the rules that matter and the ones that are mostly marketing. Code ONKAGNVZ applies up to 90% off evaluation fees during the current Apex sale.

Apex Trader Funding, up to 90% off evaluation fees with code ONKAGNVZ Start your evaluation →
Promo code ONKAGNVZ

See the current Apex discount for full terms before you buy.

Also asked · Related questions

What traders also ask.

1-Step Max is a new Lark Funding evaluation programme with a 12% static maximum drawdown and a 5% daily loss limit, with no consistency rule, no news restrictions and no minimum trading days.
No. According to Lark Funding, traders are permitted to trade during macroeconomic events on 1-Step Max.
The programme includes three free restarts. To qualify, a trader must surrender the account voluntarily before any rule breach, be within a 5% drawdown at the time of surrender, and not have risked more than 1% per trade during the trading period.
The announcement does not say. Neither the price, the account sizes, the profit target nor the profit split has been published in the report, so confirm them with Lark Funding before buying.
Static. The 12% maximum drawdown is described as static.
Sources

DISCLOSURE: Trader Payout is an independent editorial site. Some links here are affiliate links, including for Apex Trader Funding, and we may earn a commission if you sign up. This does not affect our editorial choices, our data, or our verdicts. Futures trading carries substantial risk of loss and is not for everyone. This is general information, not financial, legal or investment advice. Confirm current terms directly with Lark Funding before acting.